Jason Ryman Rides Deepstack Turbo to the End for $14,197

Jason Ryman held the lead almost the entire final table.

Jason Ryman held the lead almost the entire final table.

Event 9: $250 Mega Deepstack Turbo kicked off at noon and drew 284 entrants on the eve of the Main Event. The event lived up to it’s name as it caught up to the Six-Max, passed it and Jason Ryman wrapped up the win before midnight for $14,197.

“From the beginning I was here to win – I got a few lucky breaks and it got me through to the end,” Ryman said. “It was just an awesome day.”

“I like to enjoy myself while I play – this is my me time,” he said. “I won my Main Event seat but I’m supposed to work tomorrow.”

“The structure got really fast form three tables down and when the cards came, they came,” Ryman said. “I stayed focused, was ready for a long day – but didn’t think I’d be here until midnight.”

Ryman brought the chip lead to the final table and never relinquished the lead until the end. When heads-up play began Ryman held 3.3 million to James Maahs 900,000. Just after the championship match started, Ryman opened to an even million and Maahs moved all in behind him holding Ah 5h. Ryman rolled over 9s 5s and watched the board run Qs 6c 2d Ac Kd.

Maahs’ chip lead didn’t last long as Ryman played his way back. The final hand saw Ryman open to 400,000, Maahs called and the flop came Jd 9s 5s. Maahs checked, Ryman moved all in and Maahs called.

Ryman tabled Jh 6s, Maahs held 9h 8c and the board completed 2h As. Ryman’s pair of jacks was best, Maahs was eliminated and Ryman won his first CPC title.

Final Table Payouts

  1. Jason Ryman – $14,197
  2. James Maahs – $8,720
  3. Song Zhou – $5,915
  4. Charles Dicaro – $4,314
  5. Arunas Astrauskas – $3,345
  6. Geremi Wicinski – $2,599
  7. Harold Evans – $2,054
  8. Brian Shurte – $1,606
  9. Glen Poitinger – $1,262
Leave a Reply

