Mike Burns Wins Mega Deepstack Turbo for $12,956

Mike Burns is already thinking about the 2016 WSOP Main Event.

Mike Burns is already thinking about the 2016 WSOP Main Event.

The penultimate event to the 2016 Chicago Poker Classic kicked off at noon Monday with a $360 Mega Deepstack Turbo event. There were 161 entries that built a $47,978 prize pool and Mike Burns walked away the winner with $12,956 and a seat to the 2016 $10,000 World Series of Poker Main Event.

“I tried to take off last week from my full-time job so I could be here for the whole series, but they screwed up and this upcoming week off,” Burns said. “I didn’t get to play the CPC Main, which was my plan, but here we are and I had a nice showing here.”

“This was kind of a Series saver for me,” Burns added. “I fired five bullets in Event 11 and came up empty. I have not played the WSOP Main Event before and I’m already thinking about it. I mean, we still have a couple months but I’m looking forward to it.”

Burns is a 29 year-old Call Center manager from Osh Kosh, Wisconsin. He used to play full time but now just plays when cans.

Christ Staats and Orlando Romero, second and eighth respectively, had a solid CPC series with a couple of cashes each.

Final Table Payouts

  1. Mike Burns – $12,956
  2. Chris Staats – $7,964
  3. Paul LoDuca – $5,517
  4. Jeff Baker – $3,982
  5. Bobba Sasidhar – $2,975
  6. Shane Martin – $2,265
  7. Ryan Jaworski – $1,780
  8. Orlando Romero – $1,435
  9. Patrick McVady – $1,175
Leave a Reply

