William Luciano Wins CPC Main Event for $254,892

William Luciano won $254,892 off a $240 investment.

William Luciano won $254,892 off a $240 investment.

The third and final day of the $2,000 Chicago Poker Classic Main Event began with ten players of the 736 that entered the event. Each player had near $20,000 locked up already but it was William Luciano the outlasted the final table to earn $254,892.

“It’s sort of hard to believe that just happened,” Luciano said. “I just got a bigger bankroll for more events. I was inspired by Martin Jacobson in the Main Event a couple years ago where he sat back with a shorter stack and then ran it up for the win.”

“I was down to six blinds on Day 1 and I shouldn’t even be here,” he said. “I had pocket tens on a king-high flop and he checked it all the way down. If he doesn’t do that, I wouldn’t even be here.”

I picked my spots, won many flips and targeted some players that would fold. Once I ran my stack up to a re-shove stack I started stealing in some spots,” Luciano said. “I won most of flips but I feel like I hit my stride today – I never got above average stack on Day 2.”

Luciano qualified for the Main Event in a $240 Satellite three weeks ago in the Horseshoe Hammond poker room. He played Flight 1B and only had the one bullet to fire.

In addition to their six-figure payouts, the top three players earned a seat into the 2016 $10,000 World Series of Poker Main Event. “I’m looking forward to playing it (WSOP Main Event) but I’m thinking about how I have to work on Tuesday.”

Final Table Payouts

  1. William Luciano – $254,892
  2. Chad Freid – $158,556
  3. Mike Reick – $109,669
  4. Michael VanderWoude – $79,775
  5. Joe Huang – $60,886
  6. Jorge Postigo – $48,390
  7. Fadi Hamad – $38,364
  8. Bryan Skreens – $30,326
  9. Thomas Peebles – $23,790
  10. Ben McCoy – $18,561

 

Leave a Reply

