John Raiche Wins Event 11, 2016 Ford Mustang GT

John Raiche standing with his new 2016 Mustang GT.

John Raiche standing with his new 2016 Mustang GT.

Event 11: $250 Double Qualifier Bonus with a 2016 Mustang GT returned for Day 2 with 91 players and ten hours later John Raiche took down the $43,101 prize and the 2016 Mustang GT.

“I’ve always wanted a Mustang – this is really exciting,” Raiche said. “This event is huge to me – I played the Main Event and didn’t last too long – definitely a Series saver for me.”

“I don’t play a lot of tournaments, I mostly stick to cash games,” he added. “I’m glad how it worked out because I think Sean (Small) is a much better player than I am – I’m thrilled.”

Raiche fired three bullets in the Event, bagged in Flight 1b and min-cashed in Flight 1E while he was going for the double bag bonus. “My goal was to make the final table when I started,” Raiche added. “I don’t play a lot short-handed so it made me look at the game in a different way – these guys are very sophisticated these days.”

Three-handed play was battle between Raiche, Sean Small and Andreas Halikias. They played two levels together before Halikias shoved preflop holding Ah Qs and Small called with pocket fours. The board ran 9s 3s 3d 5d Jh, Halikias didn’t improve and he hit the rail in third place.

Heads-up play began with Raiche holding 7.5 million to Small’s 5.2 million. Over a series of several hands Raiche chipped away at Small’s stack before he made final stand holding Jd 2s. Raiche woke up pocket sevens, called and the board ran Qc Td Tc Kd 4s.

Small missed his hand, finished runner-up and Raiche was happy to pose with his brand-new candy apple red 2016 Mustang GT.

Final Table Payouts*

  1. John Raiche – $43,101
  2. Sean Small – $26,005
  3. Andreas Halikias – $18,570
  4. Bubak Rahimisaeidi – $14,100
  5. John Holley – $12,795
  6. David Plotkin- $8,300
  7. George Tomasevich – $8,405
  8. Nick Pupillo – $8,950
  9. Parm Soni – $3,860

*Reflects added bonuses.

Leave a Reply

